Film-fare award winning actor, singer and BSG (Bharat Soka Gakkai) member Ayushmann Khurana of Mumbai talks about the magical transformation he had experienced through his practice of Nichiren Buddhism.

Dum Lagake Daimoku ( Put Your back into Chanting)

FDT: What is Faith according to you?

Ayushmann: Faith to me is tremendous belief in something, anything, that which may not be easy to explain but which gives you great courage, clarity and composure. I have been practicing Nichiren Buddhism for 1.5 years and I have realized that chanting daimoku (Nam-myoho-renge-kyo) for even 10-15 Minutes when I’m confused about things, brings me immense clarity and confidence.

Gratitude ki Barfi (Sweet Gratitude)

FDT: What prompted you to join Soka Gakkai ( Lay Organisation of Nichiren Daishonin Buddhism)?

I am in touch with Bharat Soka Gakkai (BSG) Members in the film industry like Shashank Khaitan, Nakuul Mehta, Rochak Kohli (also a childhood friend) and Ravi Dube, all of whom are really motivating people to have around. Ravi tried telling me about the practice 10 years ago but I really didn’t get it. Then, in 2017, I felt drawn to the practice when my wife, Tahira, joined BSG. She has cancer and is currently undergoing her seventh chemo. She is simply taking these challenges on the chin while directing her film. I think that’s the miracle of thix`s practice and it feels great to have this faith in our lives.

(Tahira has successfully defeated the Cancer now – This Experience is as of January 2019)

Humanity da Rang (Grey Characters Inspires Creativity)

FDT: The characters you play are grey area presents – neither good nor bad neither hero nor villain and actually a bit of both. What is your motto to choose these roles?

My Motivation is realism. I have been drawn to reality since childhood through my close association with theatre. That’s why I choose to play real, normal, everyday person in my films. I don’t believe that human nature is clear cut, black or white. ‘Real people have ‘grey personalities’, they have complex, hard-to-control desires and feelings, and feelings which can’t be neatly categorized neither good or bad. To be normal is enchanting and I want to portray that every single time. This is very much along the lines that everyone is a Buddha, as they are, whoever they are, whatever they have done.

My films turn socially relevant subjects into normal drawing room conversations. That’s how Vicky Donor, my first film, which had been rejected by most. A-list actors won the National award. It actually became a case study. My films have a common thread in that they aim for a certain kind of value creation, which is conveyed through entertainment.

For example I am totally against body-shaming and I believe that good looks are overrated. We need to gauge the person within because the most attractive aspect of a person is their soul or their kindness and humanity. That’s why Dum Lagage ke Haisa is very special to me. Similarly, Badhai Ho, which is a tribute to all parents. I believe it’s the need of the hour for us to remember that parents deserve our love and respect.

Badhai Ho, Myoho! (Open your life with Myo)

FDT: From Roadie to Superstar, obviously there was human revolution happening even before you joined the practice. How is your Human revolution different now? Please give a BEFORE and AFTER perspective. How is your faith influencing your current choice of films and other career decisions?

Going from Roadie to acting in films, I was definitely evolving as an actor. My first film Vicky Donor was a tremendous success. Interestingly, it was followed by three films that didn’t do well in the box office despite my best efforts. I’ve always been in the habit of learning and improving as an actor but once I started chanting Nam-Myoho-renge kyo I experienced Human Revolution of a different kind. Before joining the practice, I made decisions with my head and I was often very confused about them. Afterwards, which is now, I followed my gut and make decisions with my heart. I’ve magically transformed because of this amazing practice. I’ve been written off many times over the past six years but I’ve simply stopped asking for opinions from even the biggest film mentors and most celebrated personalities in the film industry. Now they are the one who consult me on script decisions, etc. Faith has given me new life because I have begun believing in my own Buddhahood.

Good fortune di Khushboo (Good Fortunes comes Knocking)

FDT: How did the “Human Revolution” result in good fortune?

I’ve realized that human potential is vast and if you have immense faith, you can make anything happen. In 2017, two of my films were released within two weeks of each other. In the history of Indian cinema, whenever an actor releases two films back to back, he stands to fail at both. In my case both the films did really well. The same scenario was repeated in 2018 Andhadhun and Badhai Ho. Trade pundits predicted that at least one of them would be a box office failure since both films would be competing against each other. Everyone said we shouldn’t expect commercial success, but the outcome was a shocker because both films recorded crazy box office numbers. Even Andhadhun which was supposed to be a niche film, has cashed in around 7.1 crores at the box office, which is magical. This has only happened because of daimoku.

Mera Maan Mera Ichinen – (Lean, Learn and Learn)

FDT: What is your determination for 2019 and what message do you have for the Future division as youth growing in a “grey” area world?

My shooting schedule doesn’t leave me with a lot of time to read anything besides film scripts. I do read Sensei’s daily encouragement two to three times every morning and I try to live by it through the course of my day. In 2019, I would like to study more of Soka Literature. An FD (Future Division) Leader recently presented me with a copy of The New Human Revolution so that’s a good place to begin. I think I would be my “New New Human Revolution” resolution this year.

My message to the Future Division is to listen to Ikeda Sensei and just have self-belief, self confidence and follow your passion. Evolve yourself every single day. Be a learner. You can’t stop learning even if you are a teacher. Always be a learner.

Join the Conversation

59 Comments

  1. I fully agree with you I’m also a member of Soka Gakkai I have been practising for the last 8 years

    Like

    1. Keep going Ayushmann . I’m a practitioner of this wonderful philosophy too. Much love from Hong Kong
      Neena

      Like

  2. KIRAN VIJ. I totally agree I am also SGI member and am practicing for the last more than 15 yrs

    Like

  3. It’s very nice I’m doing practice for the last 8 years and I can’t live without this practice . I would like to chat with Ayushman whenever I come to India.

    Like

  4. And you know (if Ayushmann and Tahira read this) I a BSG always used to feel that since Tahira was going through such a tough time because of illness how benefitted would she be if she was in practice!Wow!This is such an encouraging read! To Thank Ayushmann and Tahira for sharing this!🙏🙏🙏

    Like

  5. Hi I am a big fan of yours and off course an old member of this beautiful practice. My life has changedbecause of Ikdea Sensei our mentor

    Like

  6. hi…great experience. very encouraging. wish you a wonderful journey through this practice.I am a practising member too.

    Like

  7. Very happy to know Ayushman that you are a men Bodhisatva yourself and a member of ND’s Buddhism..
    NMHRK🙏🙏🙏
    Thanks much for sharing your experience as it means a lot to everyone, more so to me as a practitioner of this life transforming philosophy..
    Btb, I’m a hardcore fan of yours and enjoy each N every character and performance of yours..congrats and way to go, dear fellow comrad.
    Proud of you💐

    Like

  8. Very happy to know Ayushman that you are a Bodhisatva of the Earth yourself and a member of ND’s Buddhism..
    NMHRK🙏🙏🙏
    Thanks much for sharing your experience as it means a lot to everyone, more so to me as a practitioner of this life transforming philosophy..
    Btb, I’m a hardcore fan of yours and enjoy each N every character and performance of yours..congrats and way to go, dear fellow comrad.
    Proud of you💐

    Like

  9. Woww… This experience motivated me so much and so good to see this that wholeheartedly you are also praying…

    Like

  10. *Nam myoho Renge kyo*
    “The more u chant Ur prayers get answered”
    With full determination and strong ichnen..there shld not b any doubt in urself

    Like

  11. Absolutely, I agree. I have been practicing Nichiren Buddhism for last 23 years and my life has completely changed. My friends now call me ‘Positive Person’, as I have nothing to complain about and always Happy.

    Like

  12. This practice is amazing. power of Nam Myoho Renge kyo change my life in 360 angle. It is mistic law you achieve every thing what you want in life.

    Like

  13. It feels good read that you have evolved so beautifully with this practice which is all about our own Human Revolution and a mentor who guides us at every stage of our lives

    Like

  14. Feeling so proud that Ayushmann sir is practicing Nichiren Buddhism and proves the law through his own life..
    I am also a member of Soka Gakkai… practitioner of last 7 years.

    Like

  15. I was also a cancer patient in 2014 and all because of faith in Nichiren Daishonin’s Buddhism
    I overcame this disease ..
    Today I feel that was the most wonderful moments of my life ..my real encounter with my mentor

    Like

  16. I’m gakkai member, last 16 year’s I’m practicing n had road Accident today I’m fit just ‘coz of my faith n believed in NHRK chanting every day n night doing my gogyo I’m thankful to my SAKUBUKU my elder sis.

    Like

  17. Wonderful experience. I m in this wonderful nd life changing practice since last 8 years. I hope ur experience will inspire many people who are suffering with different difficulties. Keep it up.

    Like

  18. Only lucky people encounter this wonderful philosophy you have to work for the law and the law works wonders in your life follow senseis guidances read the Gosho with your even it means one page do your gongyo regularly the law creates magic in yourlife.

    Like

  19. Wow congratulations for show actual proof of our practice with beautiful expression.you and your beloved wife both r buddha.NMHRK

    Like

  20. Hiee anshuman … its so encourging … m also a soka member with great faith in dis practice but yes its so encourging to read ur exp nd tahira s also . .. may we all grow in future nd attain buddhahood in our life … nam myo ho renge kyo

    Like

  21. Great experience to read your blog. I am a very new member… A member for one year. Each meeting opens up something new for me to take. Feel refreshed after coming back

    Like

  22. Me too have had tremendous victories fr last 15 yrs n my life has transformed due to my human revolution, bringing forth my Buddha nature , family harmony , better health , happiness n improved relationships!!!!

    Like

  23. Have battled cancer twice and become a Victor twice. Only through Daimoku. Have written India’s first bestselling, joyful book on cancer- To Cancer With Love-My Journey of Joy by Neelam Kumar ( HayHouse).
    Have followed this up with graphic novel vetsions to show what impossible things can happen when you put your faith in the Lotus Sutra.
    Neelam Kumar
    Corporate.lounge@gmail.com

    Like

  24. I also found a huge change in me and my environment since i joined soka gakkai. Truly magical this practice is!

    Like

  25. Extremely encouraging! I feel the same too. As a Counsellor, full time and working in an extremely challenging environment, one tends to go through ones own confusions, conflicts, where holding on to one’s value system becomes increasingly difficult but this practice has given me ample opportunities to do my own human revolution. I too try to read SGI literature although time and honestly sometimes inclination is a big challenge but going back to the Gosho, Sensei’s writings and experiences of members never fails to inspire to move ahead.

    Like

  26. I am also practicing from past 1.5 years .thanks for sharing your story . It gives inspiration.

    Like

  27. Thank you for your encouragement and the connection that you have with Sensei is amazing to apply practise in daily life irrespective of your busy schedule

    Like

  28. First of all Congratulations Ayushmann for your Success your beautiful flims and your wife’s recovery from cancer
    In your experience every word u s shared is so true and encouraging
    From 2014 me and my brother practicing this life changing Buddhists philosophy
    When we join BSG life was worst but day first we have deep faith in this philosophy
    Regular chanting studying VC and NHR follow Senseis guidence regularly and taking active part in BSG activities change our life
    When we were not in this practice always loose hope like aur kuch nehi ho sakta and loose confidence
    but after practicing this Buddhist philosophy and know about others experiences now we are becoming more confident and more strong and started believing that we will change poison in into medicine and will be victorious
    And yes like u We also called it our human revolutions
    Yes still we have so many ups and downs in our life but we faced it courageously
    We shared struggle with Sensei
    If we believe Faith Practice Study this three pillars we will definitely get victory one day
    My Thanks and Gratitude to all of our Senseis
    Thank-you so much

    Like

  29. AK: I like it when you give parallels about portraying ordinary everyday human being with all struggles, wins and the greyness of personality, indeed we are complex human beings and that’s where the beauty is…and that’s why we love ya…Been practicing since 2003 and now ,my 24 year old son does too..Introduced my mom recently…it’s fun having deep faith and a bit of mystery does not bite..:)

    Like

  30. Nam yo ho renge kyo
    The powerful sutra is the source to attain victories to any impossible challenges
    So daimoku daimoku daimoku

    Like

  31. Hi Pradeep, As per the BSG rules , let’s not take favor from any Gakkai member whether it’s a normal member or film star let’s treat everyone equally. Please do not share mobile number on internet. Wish you all the best and your connect is only with your mentor Ikeda Sensei and not with a member.

    Like

  32. I always knew there was something special about you,so wasn’t surprised to know that you too are a member of the BSG family

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started